OVI Facts

If you’ve been charged with a DUI or drunk driving (now known as Operating Vehicle under the Influence of alcohol or drugs – OVI Ohio Revised Code 4511.19), you need an aggressive and smart OVI attorney to fight for your rights. An OVI is a very serious charge with serious consequences. You should not speak to the police, prosecutors or enter a plea without contacting an attorney.

Many people falsely believe that it’s impossible to fight an OVI charge. That’s not true. Many DUI defenses are available, you just need an attorney on your side who knows these defenses and is willing to fight on your behalf. I’m that attorney.

I will fight for you and challenge every aspect of the DUI / OVI charge. Get in touch with me today and let’s discuss your case.  Don’t plead without talking to an experienced OVI attorney. Call today.

Call 216 592-8573 or email me at john AT johnforristal.com from the Contact page above.

Ohio DUI / OVI Penalties

Ohio OVI penalties are among some of the toughest in the nation.  Therefore, you need an experienced Ohio DUI attorney; I’m that attorney.  Ohio OVI penalties include minimum jail terms, driver intervention programs, license suspensions, fines, probation, restricted plates, interlock devices, and reinstatement fees. In some instances, an OVI conviction may lead to mandatory treatment programs, vehicle immobilization and/or forfeiture, ignition interlock, electronically monitored house arrest (EMHA), continuous alcohol monitoring (CAM), and prison.

If you are convicted, or plead guilty, to an Ohio OVI offense, the judge determines the appropriate sentence. There are certain minimum penalties that are required by statute.

1st OVI conviction in 10 years

Misdemeanor of the 1st Degree
Minimum 3 days in jail or a driver intervention program with probation. Maximum of 6 months in jail.
Minimum $375 fine. Maximum of $1,075 fine.
Treatment may be ordered.
Mandatory license suspension of 6 months to 3 years.
Driving privileges not available for first 15 days.
Optional yellow license plates (the DUI plates) and Interlock device.

1st OVI conviction in 10 years and either high-end test or any prior in 20 years and refusal

Misdemeanor of the 1st Degree
Minimum 6 days in jail or 3 days in jail and 3 days in driver intervention program. Maximum 6 months in jail.
Minimum $375 fine. Maximum of $1,075 fine.
Treatment may be ordered.
Mandatory license suspension of 6 months to 3 years.
Driving privileges not available for first 15 days.
Mandatory yellow license plates (the DUI plates) for high-end test. Interlock device optional.

2nd OVI conviction in 10 years

Misdemeanor of the 1st Degree
Minimum 10 days in jail or 5 days in jail and 18 days of Electronically Monitored House Arrest and/or Continuous Alcohol Monitoring. Maximum 6 months in jail.
Minimum $525 fine. Maximum of $1,625 fine.
Alcohol/drug assessment and following recommendations mandatory.
Mandatory license suspension of 1 to 5 years.
Driving privileges not available for first 45 days.
Vehicle immobilized for 90 days if registered to defendant.
Mandatory restricted plates (the DUI plates). Interlock device required if offense is alcohol related.

2nd OVI conviction in 10 years and either high-end test or any prior in 20 years and refusal

Misdemeanor of the 1st Degree
Minimum 20 days in jail or 10 days in jail and 36 days of Electronically Monitored House Arrest and/or Continuous Alcohol Monitoring. Maximum 6 months in jail.
Minimum $525 fine. Maximum of $1,625 fine.
Alcohol/drug assessment and following recommendations mandatory.
Mandatory license suspension of 1 to 5 years.
Driving privileges not available for first 45 days.
Vehicle immobilized for 90 days if registered to defendant.
Mandatory restricted plates (the DUI plates). Interlock device required if offense is alcohol related.

3rd OVI conviction and beyond

DUI penalties continue to increase the more you are convicted of DUI.
With 3 or more prior DUIs within 10 years, any further DUI is a 4th Degree Felony.
With 5 or more prior DUIs within 20 years, any further DUI is a 4th Degree Felony.
Fines increase to range from $850 minimum to $10,500 maximum.
Mandatory treatment, license suspension (including lifetime suspensions), vehicle forfeiture, mandatory DUI plates and Interlock devices.

The information on this page should only be taken as representative of OVI penalties. OVI and its penalties are subject to constant change by the Ohio legislature. Ohio OVI penalties are tough, and traditionally have only gotten tougher.